Track & Field Win Big at Fourth-Annual “EeeWoos”

In a celebration-filled night, including an appreciation reception for fundraising-members of the Eagle Athletic Association and a social hour in Showalter’s second-floor lobby, the fourth-annual “EeeWoos” recognized the year’s best athletes and athletic performances.  

Led by record-breaking All-America pole vaulter Keisa Monterola, members of the Eastern Washington University Track and Field teams won seven awards at Tuesday’s event.

The event is a season-ending awards gala honoring EWU student-athletes and teams. Monterola won awards as Female Newcomer of the Year and for Best Record-Breaking Performance. The men’s indoor track and field team was picked as the Best Team after finishing a best-ever third at the Big Sky Conference Indoor Championships in February.

The football team picked up three awards, including Bo Levi Mitchell as the Best Male Athlete. Women’s basketball player Brianne Ryan was selected as the Best Female Athlete.

Here is a complete list of winners, as well as a complete list of the nominees:

Best Team – Men’s Indoor Track & Field
Best Game/Competition – Football at Cal Poly (53-51 victory in triple overtime)
Best Play – Greg Herd to Nicholas Edwards TD Pass, Football at Cal Poly
Best Male Athlete – Bo Levi Mitchell, Football
Best Female Athlete – Brianne Ryan, Women’s Basketball
Male Newcomer of the Year – Brad Michael, Men’s Track & Field
Female Newcomer of the Year – Keisa Monterola, Women’s Track & Field
Coach of the Year – Stan Kerr, Men’s Track & Field
Triple-Threat Citizen – Laney Brown, Volleyball
Best Record-Breaking Performance – Keisa Monterola, Women’s Track & Field
Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year – Bowe Ebding, Men’s Cross Country/Track & Field
Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year – Shene Davis, Women’s Track & Field