Trustees’ Medal: Nominations Open

The Medals and Awards Committee is seeking nominations for the 2013 Trustees’ Medal.  The Trustees’ Medal, the university’s highest form of recognition for faculty achievement, has been in existence since 1978. The award consists of a bronze medallion and $1,500. The award will be presented during commencement on June 15, 2013. Please note that the deadline for nominations is Friday, April 5, 2013.

Recipients of the award for the past six years are:

Dr. Dana Elder—2012 Dr. Sarah Keller—2009
Dr. Tom Trulove—2011 Dr. Barbara Brock—2008
Dr. Meryl Gersh—2010 Dr. Gail Hicks—2007

The Trustees’ Medal is given to recognize the outstanding accomplishments of Eastern Washington University faculty in one or more of the following areas:

•     Teaching excellence.

•     Significant professional contributions in research and scholarship.

•     Substantial contributions to the development of academic learning processes, programs and curriculum.

The nomination (20 pages maximum, including supporting documentation) must provide evidence of sustained substantial and significant contributions to the university and must include:

  1. A letter of nomination.
  2. Supporting letters from a broad cross-section of the university community, including fellow faculty both internal and external to the department, administrators, staff and students.
  3. Curriculum Vitae.
  4. Suggested supporting materials: a) summaries of student evaluations; b) evaluation of publications (e.g., indicate if a publication is reviewed, not reviewed, local, national or international).

Nominators should use the nomination form found at If you nominated a faculty member within the past three years for this award and would like to reactivate the nomination, please send a new letter of nomination indicating that you are reactivating the application along with any new supplemental materials.