Board of Directors

The EWU Foundation board of directors provides oversight for the work of the Foundation. The Board determines the goals and objectives of specific fund raising initiatives, sets policy with regard to investments and spending and ensures that proper attention is paid to stewardship of gifts already received. Directors are elected to serve a three-year term of office. Directors can serve up to three consecutive three-year terms. We appreciate the hard work and dedication of all of our volunteers.


Gordon BudkeGordon Budke ’63 CBPA
Budke Consulting
Otto GuardadoOtto Guardado ’95 CALE
Financial Advisor
Ameriprise Financial – Guardado and Lander
Tom CapaulTom Capaul ’94 CSHE
Senior Lecturer, Computer Science
Eastern Washington University
(EWUAA President)
Krisann HatchKrisann Hatch ’88 CBPA
Regional Manager
Washington Employers
Daniel CarperDaniel Carper ’72 CSBS
Retired Partner
Lord Abbett & Co LLC
Jason JonesJason Jones ’96 CSBS
Shelly ColombShelly Colomb ’05 CBPA
Umpqua Bank
Jack LucasJack Lucas ’77 CALE
President, TicketsWest & West Coast Ent.
Vice President, Red Lion Hotels Corp.
(EWUF Chair)
Greg DeckardGreg Deckard ’86 CBPA
President & CEO
State Bank Northwest
(EWUF Treasurer)
Mike MumfordMike Mumford ’81 CBPA
Vice President
UBS Financial Services
Jim DesautelJim Desautel ’94 CSBS
Partner, DHC Founder
Jay ReaJay Rea
Retired University Archivist Emeritus
Eastern Washington University
Jim DeWaltJim DeWalt ’73 CSBS
President & CEO
Associated Industries of the Inland Northwest
Mark ThompsonMark Thompson ’86 CBPA
Vice President/Commercial Banking Officer
Wheatland Bank
Leroy EadieLeroy Eadie ’93 CBPA
Spokane Parks and Recreation
for City of Spokane
Tom TiffanyTom Tiffany ’65 CSHE
Retired President/CEO
Pathology Associates Medical Laboratories
Mike EkinsMike Ekins ’68 CBPA
Interface Commercial Capital, Inc.
(EWUF Vice Chair)
Gayle Van MatreGayle Van Matre ’74 CALE
Retired Principal
Bill SimerBill Simer ’78 CBPA
Eide Bailly, LLP
(EWUF Past Chair)
Robert WhaleyHon. Judge Robert Whaley
United States District Judge
(BOT Representative)
Curt FullerCurt Fuller ’86 CBPA
Business Service Relationship Manager
Numerica Credit Union
David WalkerDavid Walker
Vice President, Private Banking
Washington Trust Bank
Karla GehlenKarla Gehlen ’85 CBPA
Corporate Human Resources Manager, Itron
(EWUF Secretary)


Non-Directors (committee only)

Benji EstrelladoBenji Estrellado ’87 CBPA
Associate Broker/Marketing Representative
Cheney Realty, Inc.
Photo not available Randi Neilson
Retired Vice President, Marketing
Michelle HegeMichelle Hege’95 CSBS
Desautel Hege Communications
Photo not availableTom Reese
Business Development Director
Lydig Construction-Corporate
Photo not availableKen Johnson


Ex-Officio (non-voting)

Mary Cullinan, PhDMary Cullinan, PhD
Eastern Washington University
Michael WestfallMichael Westfall
Vice President, University Advancement
Executive Director, EWU Foundation

* An administrative fee may apply to your donation.
This fee provides essential operational support for the EWU Foundation. Please visit Foundation Fees Policy for more information.