EWU Visiting Writer Series

About the Series

Every year the MFA program invites several prestigious writers to campus, where they lead workshops of student work and give readings to the broader community. Recent guests include Albert Goldbarth, Thomas Lynch, Aurelie Sheehan, Peter Everwine, Patricia Hampl, Linda Bierds, Thomas Lux, Alison Baker, James Tate, Dorianne Laux, Yusek Komunyakaa, Phillip Lopate, Lan Samantha Chang, Marilynne Robinson, Stuart Dybek, Jane Smiley, and many more.

EWU's Visiting Writers Series is promoted by Get Lit! Programs.

Please contact Pam Russell at prussell@ewu.edu or 509.828.1434 for more information on visiting writers and all general program questions. 

2018 - 2019 Visiting Writers

Steve Almond is the author of ten books, including the New York Times bestsellers Candyfreak and Against Football. His essays and reviews have appeared in the New York Times Magazine and elsewhere. His short stories have appeared in the Best American Short Stories, the Pushcart Prize anthology, Best American Erotica and Best American Mysteries. His new book is Bad Stories: What the Hell Just Happened to Our Country.

7:30PM October 6th, 2018 at Spark Central

VW - NewStevePhoto2015

Mary Norris is a writer and editor who lives in New York. Originally from Cleveland, Ohio, she attended Rutgers University, in New Jersey, and the University of Vermont. She spent thirty-eight years on the editorial staff of The New Yorker. Norris is the author of the New York Times best-selling Between You and Me: Confessions of a Comma Queen (2015, W. W. Norton). Her new book, Greek to Me, will be published in April, 2019. 

7:30PM October 26th, 2018 at Spark Central

VW - Norris

Dennis Nurkse is the author of eleven collections of poetry, most recently Love in the Last Days: After Tristan and Iseult, A Night in Brooklyn, The Border Kingdom, Burnt Island, and The Fall, from Alfred Knopf. He’s the recipient of a Literature Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, a Guggenheim fellowship in poetry, two National Endowment for the Arts fellowships, two New York Foundation for the Arts fellowships, the Whiting Writers Award, and prizes from The Poetry Foundation and the Tanne Foundation. He served as poet laureate of Brooklyn from 1996 to 2001. His work has been translated into French, Russian, Italian, Estonian, and other languages.

7:30PM November 9th, 2018 at Spark Central


Bonnie Nadzam is an American writer. Her first novel, Lamb, was recipient of the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize. The book was made into an award-winning independent film, Lamb. Nadzam is co-author of Love in the Anthropocene with environmental ethicist Dale Jamieson. Her second novel, Lions was a Finalist for the PEN USA Literary Award in Fiction. Her third novel, 31, is forthcoming. She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in English Literature and Environmental Studies from Carleton College, a Master of Fine Arts fromArizone State University and an MA and PhD from the University of Southern California. She lives in Minnesota with her family.

7:30PM January 18th, 2019 at Spark Central

VW - nadzam-3-22-17

Connie Voisine is the author of Calle Florista. Her previous book, Rare High Meadow of Which I Might Dream was a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Award. Her first book, Cathedral of the North, won the Associated Writing Program’s Award in Poetry. She has poems published in The Georgia Review, Ploughshares, Poetry Magazine, Black Warrior Review, The Threepenny Review, and elsewhere. Her work was featured at The Lab at Belmar, a museum show pairing prehistoric stone tools with poems. Educated at Yale University, University of California at Irvine, and University of Utah, Voisine teaches in the creative writing program at New Mexico State University and also coordinates La Sociedad para las Artes, its outreach organization.

7:30PM February 8th, 2019 at Spark Central

VW - 4999514

Ira Sukrungruang is the author of three nonfiction books Buddha’s Dog & other Meditations, Southside Buddhist and Talk Thai: The Adventures of Buddhist Boy, the short story collection The Melting Season, and the poetry collection In Thailand It Is Night. He is the recipient of the 2015 American Book Award, New York Foundation for the Arts Fellowship in Nonfiction Literature, an Arts and Letters Fellowship, and the Emerging Writer Fellowship. His work has appeared in many literary journals, including Post Road, The Sun, and Creative Nonfiction. He is one of the founding editors of Sweet: A Literary Confection (sweetlit.com), and teaches in the MFA program at University of South Florida.

7:30PM February 22nd, 2019 at Spark Central

VW - raPhoto

Suzanne Matson’s new novel, Ultraviolet, received a starred review in Publishers Weekly, and was included in Real Simple‘s roundup of “The Best Books of 2018.” Her first novel, The Hunger Moon, was a Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers pick. Her third, The Tree-Sitter, was short-listed for the PEN New England/ L. L. Winship Award. She has published two poetry collections with Alice James Books, and teaches at Boston College. Originally from Portland, Oregon, she studied at Portland State University and the University of Washington.

7:30PM March 1st, 2019 at Spark Central

VW - Suzanne-Matson-photo-by-Mark-Wilson

EWU’s Visiting Writers Series is presented by:


Previous Visiting Writers